OOTD: Retro Roses

THRIFT SCORE! I found this lovely floral-print deep-pocketed beauty at the Townline Goodwill and I just could not believe my luck! I brought it into the dressing room along with a few other items (okay like maybe a dozen other dresses,) and I saved it for last to try on. Do you ever find an article of clothing that you absolutely fall in love with but you really doubt it’s going to fit you so you hold off on trying it on for as long as possible so that you don’t have to face the reality that you won’t be able to wear it forever? Yeah. Me too. I Left it on the hanger so I could stare wistfully at it while I tried on all the other frocks I had gleaned from the racks. And then…finally…the moment of truth.

 

FullSizeRender(2)

Turns out that this pretty H&M tea length dress would look good on anyone, it is that well made! There’s light boning in the bodice and wide elastic set at the waist so it doesn’t shift or fall down like some strapless things do. (This dress does have little hooks inside where you could attach straps, but the previous owner failed to include those with the dress.) The only thing more surprising than how great it fit me was when I got to the register and it rang up as $2 OMG CAN YOU BELIEVE IT???

FullSizeRender(23)

The best part of this dress hands-down are the POCKETS! These ain’t no tiny decorative pockets, these shits are wide and deep! Seriously, I put my phone, chapstick, lipstick, wallet, and keys in the pockets and my husband couldn’t even tell I was carrying anything. This dress allows you to go hands-free without a purse!

This is going to be a go-to staple in my summer wardrobe this season, and it also looks adorable layered with tights and a little cardi for the fall too! I still can’t believe I only paid TWO BUCKS for it!!! I’m going to have to work on accessories to pair with this as I don’t have much red in my closet, especially in the shoe department. (I’m still on the hunt for my ideal peep-toe red jelly shoes!)  For today, I threw on my blush patent flats – am I the only one out there who truly believes they match any and everything???

FullSizeRender(4)

Speaking of matching, can you believe how perfectly the retro-style sunnies go with this ensemble? It’s like they were made to go together! But they weren’t. These were made by Walmart. These are by far my new favorite non-prescription sunglasses. I adore the colors and the shape!

A very simple look today, but this dress has lots of potential and versatility! I’m looking forward to getting lots of good use out of it and finding new ways to style it for different occasions!

 

FullSizeRender(21)

SHOP THE LOOK:

Forever21+ Floral Off-the-shoulder Mini Dress in Red Print

Torrid Floral Print Georgette Wrap Dress

eShakti Floral Print Dupioni Strapless Dress

Old Navy Plus Size Cold-Shoulder Dress in Red Floral Print

Ona Scrunch Flats in beige by Mossimo for Target

Steve Madden Heaven round toe flat in nude

Lucky Brand Nude Eleesia Flat

 

 

Owl Black Floral Cateye Sunglasses from Walmart

Torrid Reflective Cateye Sunglasses

Gold-trim Black Floral Cateye Sunglasses from Target

Rose-gold mirrored Cateye Sunglasses from Target

 

One thought on “OOTD: Retro Roses

Leave a Reply

