OOTD: Boho Chic

I’ve been wanting to get in on the frilly fluffy tulle train like nobody’s bidniz! The only problem I have is that as a chronically ill stay-at-home-mom I don’t have many opportunities for going Out out and so I can’t justify purchasing what is basically a tutu to wear to go  grocery shopping. So I’ve been keeping my eye out for a tulle confection that would be a little bit practical and not too poofy, but still flowy and magical. I found a really great versatile piece in Lauren Conrad’s layered t-shirt dress from Kohl’s!

FullSizeRender(6)

The dress is actually two pieces – the sheer tulle overlay is attached by the straps to the shoulders of the cotton tee, which is skirted with rayon. It could easily be separated which I will eventually need to do to play around with more formal or daring looks!

FullSizeRender(4)

I love the simplicity of the pastel silhouette and man oh man you should see how this baby flows and swishes when I walk! It’s feminine but not too girly, and the layered plain white t-shirt gives it a 90s grunge-esque edge so this layered frock can easily be dressed up or down.

FullSizeRender(2)

There are only two things about this dress that are not perfect for me. First is that the spaghetti straps on the tulle overlay are not adjustable despite the fact that it is not directly attached at the waist or bodice. I have a rather short torso and I wish the waistline fell ever so slightly higher on me. The other awkward aspect is the length. It’s not terrible however I wish it was a bit shorter. But that’s just me being my usual nit-picky self. This dress really is amazing despite my ‘druthers!

FullSizeRender(1)

The tulle is such a sheer pale blush pink that it’s easy to wash out the delicate details with too many accessories – as I found out when I tried to pair this with my Chucks and leather jacket. It was just too heavy-looking. This dress was basically made to wear barefoot at the beach, so the next best thing is a pair of strappy sandals. I wore my metallic Steve Madden ankle-strap flats and added a few gold accessories for some subtle shine. The gorgeous filigree hamsa necklace was a score at my local Savers Thrift Store, the golden skull bangle was a fab find from Plato’s Closet, and the tribal mood ring hails from Rue21 a few years ago. (Gawd I love mood rings!) The gold linen headband is from the dollar store (wut!) and those amber-toned heart-shaped sunglasses came from Forever21 but I can’t even remember when I got them. I feel like I’ve had them forever – no pun intended! They’re one of my very favorites of all my sunglasses.

FullSizeRender(5)

OOTD DETAILS:

Lauren Conrad layered dress: Kohl’s, on sale $10.48

Steve Madden gold sandals: thrifted, $7.99

Hamsa necklace: thrifted, $2.99

Skull bangle: thrifted, $3

Mood Ring: Rue21, $2.80

Headband: dollar store, $1

Sunglasses: Forever21, $3.80

Outfit Total: $32.06

FullSizeRender(3)

 

SHOP THE LOOK:

ASOS Premium: Lace Tulle Midi Prom dress

Nordstrom Rack: Topshop Tulle midi dress

Forever21: Sheer Ruffle Tulle Maxi dress

Love Culture: nude Tulle Ruffle Slip dress

 

Charlotte Russe: T-Strap pointed toe flats

Torrid: Metallic T-Strap Gladiator Sandals (wide width)

Rue21: Rose Gold Ankle Strap flats (wide width)

Gap: Leather ankle-strap D’Orsay flats

 

Express: Hamsa Namaste Drop necklace

Target: sterling silver heart hamsa necklace

ASOS: Pieces Hamsa necklace

Etsy – LamFaTiTa: Gold Hamsa necklace with cubic zirconia

 

Target: Heart Shaped Metal sunglasses

UO: Heartbreaker sunglasses

Walmart: Large Oversized Heart sunglasses

Forever21: Rimless Heart sunglasses

 

Gilt: CZ Cuff Bracelet by Tal Jewelry

Poshmark: skull cuff bracelet

Etsy, LittleTreatsByWendy Skull bracelet

Alexander McQueen: Jewelled Twin Skull bangle

 

Nordstrom, Ruby & Bloom: faux leather bow headband

Kohl’s: girls giant metallic bow hair clip

Etsy, acckorea: peach gold bow headband

Target, La-Ta-Da: brushed gold geometric headband

 

 

One thought on “OOTD: Boho Chic

Leave a Reply

